Laurelmountainboro's Weblog

March 24, 2008


Filed under: LMB FACTS/STATS — laurelmountainboro @ 2:46 am

Westmoreland County was formed from Bedford County in 1773*. On January 10, 1982, Laurel Mountain Park successfully seceded from Ligonier Township to form its own government, Laurel Mountain Borough (LMB).

It is one of 960 boroughs represented by The Pennsylvania Association of boroughs ( ).

The 2000 census provides information about Laurel Mountain Borough at the census web site: ( : ( )

Below is a summary of some of the statistics. More will be posted later.Remember, statistics only apply to FULL-TIME residences.

The borough’s population numbers 185 (91 males, 94 females) whose median age is 43.5 years. Of the 185 persons, 45 are over 65 years old and 8 are under 15 years old.
The borough population consists of one race, white.

There is a total of 109 housing units in the borough: 78 are occupied and 25 are seasonal, recreational or occasional use.

Of the 78 occupied households, 21 have their own child(ren) under age 18; 29 are households with individuals over 65 years old; 9 are households where a resident 65 or older lives alone.

The average household since is 2.37; the average family size is 2.80.

Homes owned and occupied by the owners number 70; the remaining eight are renter-occupied. In 1995, 118 residents lived in the same house as they do now.

COMPARISON OF LMB WITH Seven Springs and Donogal Boroughs:

Sev. Spr: 127 population, 63 households, 1.1 sq miles, $48,750 med household income
Donegal: 165 population, 72 households, 0.3 sq miles, $23,875 med household income
LMB 185 population, 78 households, 0.1 sq. miles, $44,750 med household income

*WESTMORELAND COUNTY BOROUGHS (as of 1990): Adamsburg, Arnold city, Arona, Avonmore, Bolivar, Delmont, Derry, Donegal, East Vandergrift, Export, Hunker, Hyde Park, Irwin, Jeannette city, Latrobe, Laurel Mountain, Ligonier, Lower Burnell city, Madison, Manor, Monessen city, Mount Pleasant, Municipality of Murrysville, New Alexandria, New Florence, New Kensington city, New Stanton, North Belle Vernon, North Irwin, Oklahoma, Penn, Scottdale, Seward, Smithton, South Greensburg, Southwest Greensburg, Sutersville, Trafford, Vandergrift, West Leechburg, West Newton, Youngstown, Youngwood.


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: